Thursday, July 4, 2013

Jay-Z Magna Carta Holy Grail Review

Jay-Z Leaks Own Album

Jay-Z leaked his own album, Magna Carta Holy Grail, this morning thanks to a $5mil deal with Samsung to allow users to download the CD free.

Upon first listen, with the exception of the first two songs, the CD seems forced and bland with many songs ending too soon or running too long. Nevertheless, this Jay-Z is better than no Jay-Z and there are some intriguing lyrics and samples such as the chorus to Smells Like Teen Spirit's lyrics rearranged in Heaven to read well we are just entertainers, here we are now entertain us, we're just stupid and contagious.

Jay-Z's Magna Carta Holy Grail track list:
1. "Holy Grail" (feat. Justin Timberlake)  Justin Timberlake is given a lot of airtime to open the album.  Very personal lyrics about his daughter, the paps and being just Jay-Z.  Best song on the album.
2. "Picasso Baby"  Another clever song by Jay-Z about Jay-Z, goes from million to billions to trillions.  Does he own a Picasso in his casa?
3. "Tom Ford"  Here is the third song on the album legit from Youtube, Tom Ford.  I'm not really into Tom Ford, but amazing the number of different ways for Jay-Z to say Tom Ford.
4. "FuckWithMeYouKnowIGotIt" (feat. Rick Ross)  Ross is given a lot of airtime on this one like Jay-Z lost a bet or something.
5. "Oceans" (feat. Frank Ocean)
6. "F.U.T.W."  I just don't get this song.
7. "Somewhere in America"
8. "Crown"
9. "Heaven"Musically and lyrically one of the best songs on the album,  very catchy.
10. "Versus"
11. "Part II (on the Run)" (feat. Beyonce)
12. "Beach Is Better"
13. "BBC" (feat. Nas, Justin Timberlake, Beyonce, Swizz Beatz, Pharrell & Timbaland)
14. "Jay-Z Blue"
15. "La Familia"
16. "Nickels and Dimes"